2021 Founders Day Awards Celebrate Commitment to Public, University Service

Fifteen faculty, staff and students were honored for their public service, excellence in nursing and exceptional service to UC San Francisco at this year’s UCSF Founders Day Awards event.

The awardees were honored during a virtual event held May 21.

“Each year we come together for this great UCSF tradition that recognizes our outstanding community and acknowledges some of the exemplary individuals who contribute to the excellence for which UCSF is renowned,” said Chancellor Sam Hawgood, MBBS, in his opening remarks.

“Our honorees are being recognized today for their excellence in service, outstanding contributions to our community and excellence in nursing," the chancellor said.

You can watch the full program below or view the videos about the awardees.

UCSF Chancellor Sam Hawgood, MBBS, honored 15 faculty, staff and students during the 2021 UCSF Founders Day Awards event.


Chancellor Award for Exceptional University Management


Jennifer Dowd
Associate Director
Campus Life Services

Pamela Hayes
Manager, Benefits Specialty Center
Campus Human Resources

Angela Marks
MSEd Manager
Division of Palliative Medicine Department of Medicine

Jane Rabbitt, RN
Research Nurse Manager
Neuro-Oncology Division

Karen White Horn
Technical Director
Pandemic Initiative for Equity & Action

Chancellor Award for Exceptional University Service

Lisa Cisneros
Senior Director
Strategic Communications Office of Communications

LaMisha Hill, PhD
Multicultural Affairs Office of Diversity and Outreach

Laura Ishkanian
Family Services Campus Life Services

Lisa Mogannam, RN
Health Major Capital Projects
UCSF Major Projects

Chancellor Award for Public Service

Established in 1970 by former Chancellor Philip R. Lee, this award honors members of the University who have performed outstanding service to the community.

George Rutherford, MD
Chief, Infectious Disease & Global Epidemiology
Department of Epidemiology & Biostatistics

Jessica Celentano
Director of Programs
Pandemic Initiative for Equity & Action Institute for Global Health Sciences

Joel Babdor, PhD
Postdoctoral Researcher
Department of Microbiology & Immunology

Thomas N. Burbridge Award for Public Service

This award, named after the professor of pharmacology remembered for his efforts to open up jobs for minorities in previously segregated fields, was established in 1973 to recognize public service that promotes equal education and employment opportunities, civil rights and social justice.

Alicia Fernandez, MD
Professor of Medicine
Division of General Internal Medicine, Zuckerberg San Francisco General Hospital

Edison T. Uno Award for Public Service

This award, named after the assistant dean of students at UCSF from 1969 to 1974, was established in 1980 to recognize dedication and commitment to established social, political and civic groups that bring about social change.

Adeola Oni-Orisan, MD, PhD
Resident Physician
Family and Community Medicine

Distinguished Nurse Award

This award recognizes outstanding contributions to the care of patients and fosters professional and public awareness of achievements in nursing practice.

Leigh Ann Ambrose, RN
Clinical Nurse IV
UCSF Benioff Children’s Hospital