Matt Jacobson Named Chair of Department of Pharmaceutical Chemistry

By David Jacobson

Matthew Jacobsen

Photo by Elisabeth Fall

Renowned researcher and educator Matthew Jacobson, PhD, has been named the new chair of the UCSF School of Pharmacy’s Department of Pharmaceutical Chemistry. His appointment by Dean B. Joseph Guglielmo, PharmD, will be effective Jan. 15, 2016.

Jacobson will become the department’s 10th chair since its formation in 1958. He succeeds James Wells, PhD, who is stepping down from the post after leading the department since 2008.

“Matt is deeply respected in the School, within the Graduate Division, and across campus for his groundbreaking research, his insights, and his provocative ideas to continually improve the organization,” said Guglielmo. “The School warmly welcomes Matt as a new department chair. As he assumes this role, I also welcome him as a member of the School’s Leadership Group. His leadership will be essential as we move forward to meet the bold objectives created by our faculty in the School’s 2015–2020 strategic plan.”

Read more on the School of Pharmacy website »

For more campus news and resources, visit Pulse of UCSF.