King Named Secretary-Treasurer of American Board of Internal Medicine

By Lisa Cisneros

Talmadge King

Talmadge E. King, Jr., MD, the Julius R. Krevans Distinguished Professor in Internal Medicine and Chair of the Department of Medicine at UCSF, has been named secretary-treasurer of the American Board of Internal Medicine (ABIM) board of directors. 

He continues to serve on the executive committee for ABIM, which sets the standards and certifies physicians practicing in internal medicine and its subspecialties to ensure they have the knowledge, skills and attitudes required to provide high-quality care. 

The board of directors, comprised of physicians who are board certified in internal medicine or one of its subspecialties, guides ABIM’s overall mission and direction as it works to improve health care quality. All ABIM directors participate in ABIM’s Maintenance of Certification (MOC) program. MOC recognizes that what was standard treatment a decade ago may have changed, and that the public needs a process to know if their physicians have kept up to date in their field. 

King, an internationally respected expert in lung disorders, is certified in both internal medicine and pulmonary medicine and renewed his pulmonary medicine certification in 2009. He was named chair of the UCSF School of Medicine’s Department of Medicine in September 2007.

“As a leader in a large academic department of internal medicine Talmadge understands the competing forces at work in health care today and his insights and tough questions keep the Board focused on its primary mission – to improve the health care quality of the patients we serve,” said Christine Cassel, MD, president and CEO of ABIM.

A graduate of Gustavus Adolphus College in St. Peter, MN, King earned his medical degree from Harvard Medical School. He served a residency at Emory University Affiliated Hospitals, Atlanta, GA, and a pulmonary fellowship at the University of Colorado Health Sciences Center, Denver. King held a professorship in medicine at the University of Colorado Health Sciences Center, and was a senior faculty member at the National Jewish Medical and Research Center.

King is a member of the Institute of Medicine of the National Academy of Sciences, the Advisory Council of the National Heart, Lung, and Blood Institute, Board of Directors of the National Committee for Quality Assurance, the Association of American Physicians, the American Clinical and Climatological Association and the Fleischner Society. He is a master of the American College of Physicians and a fellow of the American College of Chest Physicians. He served as president of the American Thoracic Society (ATS).

King has served on the Lung Biology and Pathology Study Section of the National Institutes of Health (NIH); Pulmonary and Allergy Drugs Advisory Committee Center for Drug Evaluation & Research of the Food and Drug Administration; NIH Advisory Board for Clinical Research. 

He has been a member of several editorial boards including: American Journal of Respiratory and Critical Care Medicine, Annals of Internal Medicine, THORAX and Up-To-Date™ in Pulmonary and Critical Care medicine.

King’s research interest is the pathogenesis, diagnosis and management of inflammatory and immunologic lung injury. His bibliography comprises more than 300 publications. He has co-edited several books, including the acclaimed reference book Interstitial Lung Disease, now in its fifth edition; Murray and Nadel’s Textbook of Respiratory Medicine (5th Ed.); and Medical Management of Vulnerable & Underserved Patients: Principles, Practice, Population, the only reference currently available that focuses on the treatment of patients living with chronic diseases in poor and minority populations.

King has been listed on several of the “Best Doctors lists in America” for more than a decade. He received the Trudeau Medal from the ATS in 2007.

Photo by Susan Merrell

Related Links:

UCSF School of Medicine Names King as Chair of the Department of Medicine
UCSF Today, September 19, 2007

Chair of Medicine to Receive 2007 Trudeau Medal
UCSF Today, March 7, 2007

American Board of Internal Medicine