+ copy+Line Copy 7

University of California San Francisco

Give to UCSF

UCSF Names Work Group on Administrative and Business Efficiencies

The UCSF Executive Budget Committee recently created the Work Group on Administrative and Business Efficiencies, one of three work groups which are advisory to the committee. The three work groups began meeting in early February and are anticipated to meet through June 2009. The chairs of each work group will regularly report to the Executive Budget Committee on their work groups’ progress and recommendations.

Work Group on Administrative and Business Efficiencies

The charge of this work group is to explore and recommend administrative and business efficiency options. Suggested means by which this charge could be accomplished include:
  • Compiling a compendium of possible administrative and business efficiency ideas
  • Creating criteria for determining “core” academic and clinical activities
  • Identifying areas for possible consolidation or reduction
  • Considering opportunities for efficiencies by partnering with other campuses


Mark Laret, co-chair, chief executive officer, Medical Center Randy Lopez, co-chair, interim vice chancellor, Finance & Administration Adele Anfinson – director, Student Health Services Ron Arenson – professor, Department of Radiology, School of Medicine Kevin Austin – associate director, Capital Programs & Facilities Management James Bennan – director, Perioperative Services, Medical Center Rik Derynck – professor, Department of Cell and Tissue Biology, School of Dentistry Steve Downs – executive director, Development & Alumni Relations Rob Duca – associate dean, School of Pharmacy Wanda Ellison – assistant provost, Office of the Executive Vice Chancellor and Provost Frederick Finzen – clinical professor, Department of Preventive and Restorative Dental Sciences, School of Dentistry Maria Friciello – department manager, Department of Biopharmaceutical Sciences, School of Pharmacy Warren Gold – professor, Department of Medicine, School of Medicine and an Academic Senate representative Paulette Gregg – assistant director, Administration, Cardiovascular Research Institute Cecilia Hamilton – controller and assistant vice chancellor, Controller’s Office Angela Hawkins – executive director, Budget and Resource Management Michael Hindery – vice dean, School of Medicine Jim Hine – executive director, Procurement Business Contracts Lynda Jacobsen – director of administration, Comprehensive Cancer Center Ken Jones – chief financial officer, Medical Center Larry Lotenero – chief information officer, Medical Center Karen Mah-Hing – director, Dean’s Office, School of Nursing Zina Mirsky – associate dean, School of Nursing Esther Morales – chief of staff, Real Estate Services, University Advancement and Planning Suzanne Murphy – director, Administration & Finance, Office of Research Jocelyn Nakashige – director, Finance & Administration Zoanne Nelson – associate director, Program Management Office Michael Nordberg – chief financial officer, School of Pharmacy Susan O’Hara – chief financial officer, Department of Radiology, School of Medicine Cliff Roberts – interim associate vice chancellor, Office of the Executive Vice Chancellor and Provost Susan Schultz – interim associate dean, Administration & Finance, School of Dentistry Jane Wong – interim chief operating officer, Application Services, Office of Academic and Administrative Information Systems Lori Yamauchi – assistant vice chancellor, Campus Planning Related Links: Executive Budget Committee Approves Principles, Appoints Work Groups UCSF Names Work Group on Academic and Clinical Program Efficiencies UCSF Names Work Group on Revenue Generation and Innovation