UCSF Names Clinical Research Scholars

A multidisciplinary advisory committee at UCSF, made up of senior UCSF scientists representing the four health science schools, has selected the first group of scholars for the UCSF Multidisciplinary Clinical Research Scholars Program. This mentored clinical research career award program is part of the National Institutes of Health (NIH) Roadmap K12 program, the newest and largest of the K12 series of NIH awards that provide training for clinical and translational investigators. The award proved highly competitive at UCSF, with 59 letters of intent received from fellows and faculty interested in this prestigious award, which provides 75 percent salary support and mentored training in a rich and diverse clinical research environment. Twenty-six of the 59 were invited to submit full applications and nine scholars were selected to receive the award in 2005-06. The scholars will be in the program for a minimum of two years and may receive up to five years of funding. They and their mentors represent a diversity of disciplines and research areas. The next round of applications for this award will be announced in July with letters of intent due in the fall of 2005. The program expects to select about four faculty scholars and five fellow scholars in the next round that will begin in July 2006. The nine 2005-06 Multidisciplinary Clinical Research Scholars and their mentors are: • Mary Beattie MD, MAS, assistant professor of medicine Mentors: John Witte PhD, professor of genetic epidemiology; Steven Cummings MD, professor emeritus of epidemiology; and John Ziegler MD, MSc, professor emeritus of medicine • Guilherme Campos MD, PhD, assistant professor of surgery Mentors: Deborah Grady MD, MPH, professor of epidemiology and biostatistics and of medicine; and Hobart Harris MD, MPH, professor of surgery • Jyu-Lin Chen RN, PhD, assistant professor of nursing Mentors: Robert Lustig MD, professor of pediatrics; Sandra Weiss PhD, professor of mental health nursing; and Melvin Heyman MD, MPH, professor of pediatrics • Monica Gandhi MD, MPH, assistant professor of medicine Mentors: Ruth Greenblatt MD, professor of medicine and of epidemiology; and Leslie Benet PhD, professor of biopharmaceutical sciences and pharmaceutical chemistry • Roberta Keller MD, assistant professor of clinical pediatrics Mentors: Samuel Hawgood MBBS, professor of pediatrics; John Neuhaus PhD, professor of biostatistics; and Jeffrey Fineman MD, professor of pediatrics • Kathleen Liu, MD, PhD, nephrology fellow, Department of Medicine Mentors: Michael Matthay MD, professor of medicine and of anesthesia; and Glenn Chertow MD, MPH, associate professor of medicine and of epidemiology • Zian Tseng MD, assistant professor of medicine/cardiology Mentors: Jeffrey Olgin MD, associate professor of cardiology; and Pui-Yan Kwok MD, professor of dermatology and of genetics • Douglas White MD, Assistant Professor of Pulmonary and Critical Care Mentors: Bernard Lo MD, professor of medical ethics; and Kenneth Covinsky MD, MPH, associate professor of medicine • Katherine Yang PharmD, MPH, assistant clinical professor of pharmacy Mentors: B. Joseph Guglielmo PharmD, professor and vice chair of clinical pharmacy; and Jeanine Wiener-Kronish MD, professor of anesthesia and of medicine