2020 UCSF Medals


This year, UC San Francisco is awarding three UCSF Medals – the University’s highest honor – to remarkable leaders who have advanced diversity and innovation in their fields through mentorship. The medalists are:

  • Freeman A. Hrabowski, III, MA, PhD, President of the University of Maryland, Baltimore County (UMBC);
  • Afaf I. Meleis, PhD, DrPS, FAAN, Dean Emerita at the University of Pennsylvania School of Nursing and Professor Emerita at UCSF; and
  • John A. Watson, PhD, Professor Emeritus in the UCSF School of Medicine.

Watch UCSF Chancellor Sam Hawgood's important conversation above with this year’s Medal recipients, touching on racial justice, achieving equality in academia, and what makes good mentorship, and read more about our extraordinary medalists.