Honoring Our Community

We honor each of you and your dedication to sustained, meaningful growth in equity and belonging at our University and in the Bay Area. You embody UCSF’s goals to cultivate innovation and diversity in education, research, patient care, and public service.

Sam Hawgood signature.
Sam Hawgood, MBBS
Renee Navarro signature.
J. Renee Navarro, PharmD, MD
Vice Chancellor, Diversity and Outreach


Jaysón Davidson,
Christina Stephens,
Sydney Williams

Chancellor Award for Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr. Leadership

Demonstrating exceptional leadership of graduate student organization BE-STEM (Black Excellence in Science, Technology, Engineering, and Math), Jaysón Davidson, Christina Stephens, and Sydney Williams have expanded student outreach, community building and professional development through collaborative action.

Lara Moyu Fu
Chancellor Award for Disability Service

A thoughtful innovator, Lara Fu imbues clinical care and research with empathetic insight to empower pediatric dental patients, strengthen community connection, and foster access and health equity for patients with disabilities.

Laurae Pearson
Chancellor Award for Advancement of Women

In shaping an environment of equity and inclusion within the Department of Medicine and at Zuckerberg San Francisco General Hospital and Trauma Center, Laurae Pearson has supported opportunities for professional development, gender equity in pay and advancement, and inclusive resource allocation.

Leah Pimentel, MBA
Chancellor Award for Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr. Leadership

By infusing her passion for community into visionary initiatives and strategic planning, Leah Pimentel has strengthened accountability, held space for allyship, and promoted equity initiatives both at UCSF and in San Francisco.

Greg Rebchook, PhD
Chancellor Award for Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual, Transgender, Queer, and Intersex Leadership

In grounding clinical care and research in community empowerment, Greg Rebchook has enhanced well-being and increased agency for patients, and developed vital partnerships in HIV prevention and gender-affirming health care.

Judy Rosen, MEd
Chancellor Award for Disability Service

Weaving compassion and care into advocacy and education, Judy Rosen has championed accessibility for all and understanding issues around disability to implement structural change through policy implementation and mindset evolution.

Jody Steinauer, MD, PhD
Chancellor Award for Advancement of Women

With more than 30 years of determined action and innovation, first as a medical student at UCSF and then as a faculty leader, Jody Steinauer has advanced women’s health care, protected access to reproductive services, and supported career development for both faculty and staff.

Sharon Youmans, PharmD, MPH, FAPhA
Chancellor Award for Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr. Leadership

Dedicated to centering access and equity in education, Sharon Youmans has founded and sustained scholar outreach and professional development programs that result in successful results both individually for School of Pharmacy students and systemically, across UCSF.