Sally Marshall Wins Award from the International Association for Dental Research

Sally Marshall, PhD, professor of preventive and restorative dental sciences with the UCSF School of Dentistry’s Division of Biomaterials and Bioengineering, has received the International Association for Dental Research (IADR) 2010 Wilmer Souder Distinguished Scientist Award.

Initiated in 1955, the award is one of the highest honors bestowed by IADR.  The award honors Wilmer Souder, the motivating force in establishing the Dental Section at the National Bureau of Standards, and is designed to encourage interest in dental materials research.

Marshall, who also serves as vice provost for Academic Affairs at UCSF, accepted the award at the IADR’s 88th General Session & Exhibition in Barcelona, Spain, on July 14.

In announcing the award, the IADR noted that Marshall “has a superb record of scholarship in the areas of structure-property relationships in biomaterials, particularly dentin and other calcified tissues and dental amalgam.

“Dr. Marshall’s work using advanced materials science instrumentation to characterize dental materials structure, properties, and processes has always been at the leading edge of the science. As part of that process, she has always been an incredible teacher, mentor and student advocate for science as evidenced by her strong record of guiding predoctoral students, doctoral students in their graduate programs and young scientists in their early careers.”

The announcement also stated that “Marshall has been a leader in promoting dental materials research, communication and collaboration through her roles as an officer and executive committee member, including serving as president of both the International and American Associations for Dental Research (AADR) as well as the Academy of Dental Materials.”

Grayson Marshall, PhD, DDS, MPH, distinguished professor and chair of the Division of Biomaterials and Bioengineering at UCSF and Sally Marshall’s husband, received this same award in 2007 and is the immediate past president of the AADR. 

Related Link:

UCSF School of Dentistry