Six UCSF Researchers Named Fellows of National Scientific Society

By Kristen Bole

Six UCSF researchers have been selected this year as fellows of the American Association for the Advancement of Science (AAAS) for scientific work or socially distinguished efforts to advance science and its applications.

The six, whose research ranges from childhood dental caries to neurodegenerative diseases, are among 702 new researchers to be recognized this year by the AAAS, the world’s largest general scientific society and publisher of the journal Science as well as Science Translational Medicine and Science Signaling.

A total of 55 current UCSF faculty are AAAS fellows.

The new fellows will be announced in the AAAS News & Notes section of the Nov. 30 issue of Science and will be recognized formally on Feb. 16 during the 2013 AAAS Annual Meeting in Boston.

The six from UCSF were recognized for the following contributions:

  • Diane L. Barber, PhD, professor, School of Dentistry, Department of Cell and Tissue Biology: For distinguished contributions on cell signaling by plasma membrane ion transport proteins and on the design and function of proteins regulated by intracellular pH dynamics.
  • Pamela K. Den Besten, DDS, professor, School of Dentistry, Department of Orofacial Sciences: For distinguished contributions to the field of oral and craniofacial biology, particularly on the effects of fluoride on tooth enamel formation.
  • Robert H. Edwards, MD, professor, School of Medicine, Department of Neurology: For distinguished contributions in bettering our understanding of neurotransmitter release and neurodegenerative disease.
  • Ulrike Heberlein, PhD, adjunct professor, School of Medicine, Department of Anatomy: For distinguished contributions to the understanding of drug-induced behaviors, especially those associated with ethanol.
  • Holly Ingraham, PhD, professor, School of Medicine, Department of Cellular and Molecular Pharmacology: For distinguished contributions to the field of molecular physiology, particularly for elucidating basic mechanisms of gene regulation in endocrine function, organogenesis and human disease.
  • Anthony J. Wynshaw-Boris, MD, PhD, division chief, Department of Medical Genetics, and professor, Department of Pediatrics, School of Medicine: For creative use of mouse models of human disease to increase understanding of genetic and biochemical pathways important in the mammalian central nervous system.

The non-profit AAAS was founded in 1848, and includes 261 affiliated societies and academies of science, serving 10 million individuals. It began the fellowship program in 1874, for which members can be considered if nominated by the steering group of their sections, by three fellows, or by the Association’s chief executive officer. A roster of current fellows and further information about the fellowships can be found in the association’s news release or website.