+ copy+Line Copy 7

University of California San Francisco

Give to UCSF

UCSF Names Work Group on Academic and Clinical Program Efficiencies

The UCSF Executive Budget Committee recently created the Work Group on Academic and Clinical Program Efficiencies, one of three work groups which are advisory to the committee. The three work groups began meeting in early February and are anticipated to meet through June 2009. The chairs of each work group will regularly report to the Executive Budget Committee on their work groups’ progress and recommendations.

Work Group on Academic and Clinical Program Efficiencies

The charge of this work group is to explore and recommend academic and clinical program efficiency options. Suggested means by which this charge could be accomplished include:
  • Compiling a compendium of possible academic or clinical program efficiency ideas
  • Creating criteria for determining “core” academic and clinical activities
  • Identifying areas for possible consolidation or reduction
  • Considering opportunities for efficiencies by partnering with other campuses


David Gardner, co-chair – chair of the Academic Senate Sam Hawgood, co-chair – interim dean, School of Medicine Denis Nepveu, staff support – director, Resource Planning, Budget and Resource Management Abul Abbas – professor, Department of Pathology, School of Medicine Josh Adler – professor, Department of Medicine, School of Medicine Brian Alldredge – associate dean, School of Pharmacy Pat Calarco – dean, Graduate Division Joe Castro – vice provost, Student Academic Affairs Neal Cohen – vice dean, School of Medicine Shaun Coughlin – professor and director, Cardiovascular Research Institute Roxanne Fernandes – executive director, Children’s Hospital Kathleen Giacomini – chair, Department of Biopharmaceutical Sciences, School of Pharmacy Linda Giudice – chair, Department of Obstetrics, Gynecology and Reproductive Sciences, School of Medicine Kevin Grumbach – chair, Department of Family and Community Medicine, School of Medicine Mark Kirkland – assistant dean for Clinical Administration, School of Dentistry Dan Lowenstein – professor in residence, Department of Neurology, School of Medicine Sally Marshall – vice provost, Academic Affairs Judy Martin-Holland – assistant dean, School of Nursing Nancy Milliken – vice dean, School of Medicine Dorothy Perry – associate dean, School of Dentistry Pat Sparacino – vice chair, Department of Family Health Care Nursing, School of Nursing Daniel Weiss – Academic Senate, Committee on Academic Planning and Budget Zena Werb – professor and vice chair, Department of Anatomy, School of Medicine