+ copy+Line Copy 7

University of California San Francisco

Give to UCSF

Three Professors Honored for Distinction in Teaching

The Academic Senate has named three UCSF faculty members as winners of the 2003-04 Distinction in Teaching Awards. Douglas R. Fredrick, MD, associate clinical professor in the Department of Ophthalmology, Betty-ann Hoener, PhD, professor and vice chair in the Department of Biopharmaceutical Sciences, and Kanu Chatterjee, MB, professor, Department of Medicine, Division of Cardiology and the Ernest Gallo Distinguished Professor of Medicine, will be honored by the Chancellor at the Founders Day Banquet on Tuesday, April 27, at the St. Francis Hotel in San Francisco and by the Academic Senate on Thursday, April 29, at noon in Cole Hall. Douglas R. Fredrick, selected in the award category which acknowledges outstanding faculty who have been at UCSF for five years or less, first came to the University in 1992 and rejoined the faculty in 2002 because of his strong commitment to teaching. He is director of pediatric ophthalmology at both UCSF and San Francisco General Hospital Medical Center. The focus of Fredrick's research is on improving the care of pediatric ocular diseases through investigations into myopia epidemiology, congenital ocular anomalies, vision development in premature infants, and early treatment of retinopathy of prematurity. Fredrick is the only member of the Department of Ophthalmology to twice receive the Excellence in Teaching Award from residents, in both 1996 and 2003. He is also an advisor to the Blind Babies Foundation and Prevent Blindness, Northern California, and regularly volunteers for Project Orbis International - the world's only flying eye hospital, where volunteers supply training and education to local health professionals while treating patients in developing nations. Betty-ann Hoener Betty-ann Hoener, co-recipient in the award category acknowledging distinction in teaching for faculty who have been at UCSF for five years or more, has been a vital part of UCSF for 30 years. She is the first UCSF faculty member to receive the Distinction in Teaching Award for a second time. She won the award in 1979 when she was a junior professor. Hoener is the recipient of a record number of teaching awards for the School of Pharmacy, and she has received national recognition for her innovative and interactive teaching methods. Hoener also directs and coordinates "Pharmacokinetics for Pharmaceutical Scientists," a major one-week course in which she is considered one of the best lecturers. Hoener's own research focuses on developing in vitro-in vivo correlations in order to model the transport and metabolism of drugs. Kanu Chatterjee Kanu Chatterjee, also recognized in the category for faculty at UCSF for over five years, joined the faculty of UCSF in 1975. He has spent the last three decades educating generations of cardiologists, whose appreciation and respect has led several to create an international "Dr. Chatterjee society." As a "master of the cardiovascular exam," Chatterjee uses bedside rounds to teach students, staff, and patients alike. He has received numerous honors for his teaching, including the Kaiser Award for Teaching (1977), Excellence in Teaching Award (1995), Outstanding Teacher, Class of 1990 and 1991, the first Melvin D. Marcus Memorial Gifted Teacher Award from the International Society of Heart Failure (1995), the first Floyd C. Rector Award for Excellence in Teaching (1996), and the Gifted Teacher Award from the American College of Cardiology (1990). Chatterjee's research focuses on systemic and coronary hemodynamics in patients with acute heart failure, valvular heart disease and chronic heart failure. He was the first doctor to report post pacing T-wave changes that have subsequently been described as "cardiac memory," and was first to report the relationship between endocardial potentials and ventricular volumes. He was also first to report the beneficial effects of vasodilators in mitral regurgitation. Related Links Academic Senate