University Relations

UCSF’s Office of University Relations is charged with directing strategic communication and public affairs for the campus and clinical enterprise. The University Relations team is skilled at leading integrated, outcome-driven communications to strengthen awareness of UCSF’s excellence in patient care, research and education through brand marketing, media relations, digital communications and internal communications. It also leads the University’s community relations programs and its local, state and federal government relations efforts.

Led by Vice Chancellor Barbara J. French, the office comprises the following units:

 

Barbara J. French
Vice Chancellor, Strategic Communications and University Relations
barbara.french@ucsf.edu

Develops and implements communications programs to champion the University’s mission and to raise awareness and visibility of UCSF’s excellence in discovery, patient care and education. Serves as lead counsel to the chancellor on issues related to communications, governmental affairs and community relations. Advises the Marketing Committee and the Government Relations Committee of the UCSF Foundation board of directors. Read her full bio »

Beth Mooney
Executive Assistant

beth.mooney@ucsf.edu
Manages all administrative tasks and responsibilities for the Vice Chancellor. Oversees the administrative team, is a member of the Vice Chancellor’s Leadership Team and is the liaison to Human Resources for policy implementation, personnel actions and initiatives.  

Mike Fortes
Office/Finance Manager

michael.fortes@ucsf.edu
Serves as University Relations' financial control point, represents the Vice Chancellor on financial policy matters, serves as the general office manager for University Relations, supports the Business Manager and all other University Relations supervisors with tactical HR actions, and provides general administrative support to all of University Relations’ staff.

Asia Gilmore
Administrative Assistant

asia.gilmore@ucsf.edu
Provides support and assistance for department sponsored events and meetings, processes departmental expenses, and provides general administrative support to all of University Relations’ staff.

Sam Molmud
Editorial News Assistant

sam.molmud@ucsf.edu

Bonz Otuski
Office Manager

bonz.otsuki@ucsf.edu
Manages logistics for University Relations’ internal and external special events, provides financial and administrative support to the Assistant Vice Chancellor for Community & Government Relations, and provides general administrative support to all of University Relations’ staff.


Strategic Communications

Leads and coordinates integrated communications projects across the University and platforms including social media, mainstream media and web.

Lisa Cisneros
Senior Director

lisa.cisneros@ucsf.edu


Brand Communications

Stewards the UCSF brand at the enterprise level. Empowers internal constituents with the tools, platforms and frameworks to communicate and grow the UCSF brand. Inspires and educates internal audiences with a clear understanding of how brand impacts their respective constituents and core disciplines. Supports internal partners with their efforts to grow brand awareness with key external audiences through integrated enterprise communications.

Nada Hansen
Creative Director

nada.hansen@ucsf.edu

Julie Hanlon
Marketing Manager

julie.hanlon@ucsf.edu

Christine Omata
Brand Communications Manager

christine.omata@ucsf.edu


Community & Government Relations

Oversees UCSF’s local, state and federal governmental relations, working in partnership with campus and medical center leadership, as well as faculty and staff. Coordinates state and federal governmental relations with the University of California Office of the President. Leads UCSF’s efforts, in collaboration with the UCSF Community Advisory Group, to build strong and constructive relationships with neighbors, community groups and civic organizations.
More about the Community & Government Relations team »

Paul Takayama
Assistant Vice Chancellor, Community & Government Relations

paul.takayama@ucsf.edu

Barbara Bagot-Lopez
Director, Community Relations

barbara.bagot-lopez@ucsf.edu

Laura Lane
Associate Director, Local and State Government Relations

laura.lane@ucsf.edu

Michele Davis
Assistant Director, Community Relations

michele.davis@ucsf.edu
Addresses UCSF project issues in the eastern side of town, especially the neighborhoods around Mission Bay campus, as well as San Francisco General Hospital.

Christine Gasparac
Assistant Director, Community Relations

christine.gasparac@ucsf.edu
Manages community relations for the Parnassus Heights, Mount Zion, Mount Sutro Open Space Reserve and Laurel Heights campuses and nearby neighborhoods.

Damon Lew
Assistant Director, Community Relations

damon.lew@ucsf.edu
Manages the EXCEL program and the Community Construction Outreach Program.


Digital Communications

Leads web communications and digital marketing for UCSF. Manages UCSF.edu and other UCSF primary websites, as well as UCSF’s main social media channels, to raise the visibility and awareness of UCSF’s excellence in discovery, patient care and education, and to build community among internal audiences. Partners with UCSF’s Information Technology Services and other IT units across campus to strengthen UCSF's overall digital presence, facilitate access and improve usability.

Louise Chu 
Executive Director, Digital Communications

louise.chu@ucsf.edu

Kevin Eisenmann
Associate Director, Digital Marketing

kevin.eisenmann@ucsf.edu

Jyoti Madhusoodanan
Web Writer

jyoti.madhusoodanan@ucsf.edu

Susan Merrell
Photographer

susan.merrell@ucsf.edu

Arezu Sarvestani
Social Media Manager

arezu.sarvestani@ucsf.edu

Sara Shaffer
Digital Production Specialist

sara.shaffer@ucsf.edu


Public Affairs

Raises the visibility and awareness of UCSF among external audiences by working with all media – traditional and new media. Responsible for all University campus and UCSF Medical Center media relations. Partners with UCSF leadership and faculty, as well as medical center leadership, to identify and promote significant advances in biomedical research, patient care, and the education of health sciences students, trainees, residents and fellows. Provides communications counsel and training.
More about the Public Affairs team »

Jennifer O’Brien
Assistant Vice Chancellor, Public Affairs

jennifer.o’brien@ucsf.edu

Kristen Bole
Assistant Director

kristen.bole@ucsf.edu
Covers the School of Pharmacy, genetics, translational medicine and industry alliances.

Juliana Bunim
Senior Public Information Representative

juliana.bunim@ucsf.edu
Covers the UCSF Benioff Children’s Hospital and pediatrics, psychiatry and kidney and liver transplant.

Peter Farley
Senior Public Information Representative

peter.farley@ucsf.edu
Covers anatomy, autoimmunity, biochemistry, biophysics, cancer research, neurology and neurosurgery, as well as basic neuroscience and psychiatry research.

Elizabeth Fernandez
Senior Public Information Representative

elizabeth.fernandez@ucsf.edu
Covers the cancer program, breaking news, emergency medicine, tobacco, obesity and the School of Nursing.

Laura Kurtzman
Senior Public Information Representative

laura.kurtzman@ucsf.edu
Cover digital health, global health and translational science.

Suzanne Leigh
Senior Public Information Representative

Suzanne.Leigh@ucsf.edu
Covers UCSF Medical Center at Mission Bay

Scott Maier
Senior Public Information Representative

scott.maier@ucsf.edu
Covers cardiology, orthopaedics, transplant medicine, and School of Dentistry.